Current location:

You are here

Legal Definition of Blindness

Primary Tasks

    Secondary Tasks

      New Stories

      Aids & Devices Closed For Inventory

      Elected Committee for Blind Managers Meeting

      Iowa Department for the Blind, 524 4th Street, Des Moines, Iowa, Director’s Conference Room

      The next meeting of the Elected Committee of Blind Managers will occur at 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, June 6, 2017, at the Iowa Department for the Blind, 524 Fourth Street, Des Moines, Iowa. The tentative agenda is as follows:
      1.  3:00  Call to Order
      2.  3:05  Approval of the May 9, 2017
         Meeting Minutes
      3. 3:10  Director’s Report
      4.   3:20  Inventories Update
      5. 3:30  Mitchellville Rest Area Update
      6. 3:40  Des Moines Vending Route Update
      7. 3:50  Victor Rest Area
      8. 4:00  Other
      9. 4:10  In consideration of holding a
            closed session to review or
            discuss records which are
            required or authorized by state
         or federal law to be kept
         confidential as a condition for
         that governmental body’s
         possession or continue receipt
         of Federal fund.
      10. 4:30  Committee Recommendations
      11. 4:35  Time and Place of Next Meeting
      12. 4:40  Adjourn

      Iowa Commission for the Blind Board Meeting

      Iowa Department for the Blind, 524 4th Street, Des Moines, Iowa, Director’s Conference Room

      The next commission board meeting is scheduled for Friday, May 12th at 9:00 am in the Director’s Conference Room at the Iowa Department for the Blind.

      Sandy Ryan, Chair
      Peggy Elliott, Member
      Joe Van Lent, Member



      What is the Legal Definition of Blindness?

      Legal blindness occurs when a person has central visual acuity (vision that allows a person to see straight ahead of them) of 20/200 or less in his or her better eye with correction. With 20/200 visual acuity, a person can see at 20 feet, what a person with 20/20 vision sees at 200 feet.

      In determining legal blindness, visual field (the part of a person's vision that enables them to see what is happening to the side of them) is also considered. A visual field of 20 degrees or less is considered to be legally blind.  Eye care professionals can assist in diagnosing legal blindness.

      What is "Functional" Blindness?

      The Iowa Department for the Blind also serves individuals who are functionally blind.  A person is functionally blind when he or she has to use so many alternative techniques to perform tasks that are ordinarily performed with sight that his/her pattern of daily living is substantially altered.  Such alternative techniques might include reading a newspaper by listening to it over the telephone or using Braille to read a book.

      What is Low Vision?

      A person who is low vision has difficulty performing ordinary tasks with sight – even with the best glasses or contact lenses.

      Simulations of Vision Loss

      About 80 percent of individuals who are blind have some remaining vision. It may be difficult to understand how an individual with a certain eye condition can see some things while not seeing others. While some people lose a lot of vision in a short period of time, others lose vision slowly. Many diseases that cause blindness begin to affect a certain part of a one's vision and then progress to take away more vision. For example, macular degeneration initially affects a person's central vision (the vision that lets us see straight ahead).  For visual examples of what individuals might see if they have diseases, such as Macular Degeneration, Glaucoma, Cataracts, Diabetic Retinopathy, and Retinitis Pigmentosa go to the National Eye Institute's website at: